Singapore Public Holidays

Singapore public holidays are a good reflection of the multi-racial, multi-religious diversity of the country. There are a total of eleven public holidays. If you are planning for a holiday in Singapore, check if there are any special events going on, for instance,the National Day Parade or the Light-ups – Christmas at Orchard Road, Chinese New Year at Chinatown, and Deepavali at Little India, which will all add a fun, festive spirit and more memorable moments to your stay here. These holidays are also great opportunities for foreigners and tourists to taste the local festive goodies at the special annual bazaars too!

Singapore Public Holidays
Pictures Courtesy of Jerrie & Jackie
New Year Day
1 January


Chinese New Year
1st & 2nd Days of the Chinese Lunar Calender, usually in late January or early February.
Good Friday
Friday before Easter, usually in April.
Labour Day
1 May
Vesak Day
5 May
National Day
9 August
Hari Raya Puasa
1st day of the month following Ramadan, usually in mid August.
Hari Raya Haji
10th day of the last month of the Islamic Calendar
usually in late October or early November.
Mid November, actual date depends on the Indian Almanac.
Christmas Day
25 December

End of “Singapore Public Holidays” Back to “Beyond Singapore Images”.

Leave a Reply